Tea and Cake # 5

Final (4 of 4)

A colleague from work brought me a box of gluten free macaroons from a recent trip to Italy that she made with her husband on a motorbike. We usually share sweets, biscuits, fruits and many cups of tea at work but these macaroons were a gift and also were so pretty that I said I was going to use them for a new edition of “tea and cake” on my blog. So another excuse to write, eat and drink tea!

These lovely purple little circular cakes are blueberry macaroons with blueberry cream filling. To pair them I made a Nilgiri SFTGFOP1 black tea so the sweetness and fruitiness of the macaroon could blend with the natural fruity character of the tea. The crumbly texture of the macaroon was also perfect to match the light-medium body of this black tea. In this case I think an iced tea could have been good as well but temperatures already started to drop so a warm cup of tea was a great choice.

I know it could sound silly but how easy it is to make yourself happy with little things: tea, macaroons and a book perhaps? Or just watching the clouds go by from the window, feeling the crisp air of the autumn? Tea and cake is a small but special pleasure if we intend it to be, isn’t it?

 Thank you Txung for the present!

Final (2 of 4)

4 comments

  1. Yajaira Arcas

    Lo que me gusta es cómo relacionas la vida con el té: con los pequeños grandes momentos, con los sentimientos, con la alegría de un encuentro.. o con un gesto de amistad, como lo son esos macaroons. Lindo de verdad.

  2. Txung Takarpa

    wow! Gaby you made my day happy. I’m speechless of contentment.
    Haven’t expected to read my name on ur beautiful blog, but that’s so nice of you to remember me.
    Thanks for sharing your thoughts, words and passion for tea. Got much more to learn from you.
    Keep it up!

    Love Txung

Leave a Reply

